twitter-icon facebook-icon
online-catalogDigital eLibraryMango LanguagesDonateGale Legal FormsMichigan eLibrary

Award Winners Announced!

The American Library Association announced the top books, video and audio books for children and young adults – including the Caldecott, Coretta Scott King, Newbery and Printz awards – at its Midwinter Meeting in Philadelphia on January 28, 2014.
Some of the winners that relate to early childhood are listed below and those marked with an * are held in the library’s collection (or soon will be!).
Click here for the complete press release.
Randolph Caldecott Medal
for the most distinguished American picture book for children:

Winner:   “Locomotive*,” illustrated by Brian Floca,

 Honor Books :

  • “Journey*,” written and illustrated by Aaron Becke.
  • “Flora and the Flamingo*,” written and illustrated by Molly Idle
  • .“Mr. Wuffles!*” written and illustrated by David Wiesner.

 Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award:

Winner:  “Knock Knock: My Dad’s Dream for Me*,” illustrated by Bryan Collier and written by Daniel Beaty

Honor Book:  “Nelson Mandela*,” illustrated and written by Kadir Nelson.

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award:

Winner:  “When the Beat Was Born: DJ Kool Herc and the Creation of Hip Hop,” illustrated by Theodore Taylor III.

Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience:

Winner for children ages 0 to 10:  “A Splash of Red: The Life and Art of Horace Pippin*,” written by Jen Bryant, illustrated by Melissa Sweet.

Pura Belpré (Illustrator) Award honoring a Latino illustrator whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience:

Winner: “Niño Wrestles the World*,” illustrated by Yuyi Morales and written by Yuyi Morales and published by .

Honor Books:

  • “Maria Had a Little Llama / María Tenía una Llamita,” illustrated and written by Angela Dominguez..
  • “Tito Puente: Mambo King / Rey del Mambo*,” illustrated by Rafael López, written by Monica Brown
  • “Pancho “Rabbit and the Coyote: A Migrant’s Tale*,” illustrated and written by Duncan Tonatiuh.

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award for most distinguished informational book for children:

Winner:  “Parrots over Puerto Rico*,” written by Susan L. Roth and Cindy Trumbore, and illustrated by Susan L. Roth.

Honor Books:

  • “A Splash of Red: The Life and Art of Horace Pippin*,” written by Jen Bryant and illustrated by Melissa Sweet.
  • “Look Up! Bird-Watching in Your Own Backyard*,” written and illustrated by Annette LeBlanc Cate
  • “Locomotive*,” written and illustrated by Brian Floca
  • “The Mad Potter: George E. Ohr, Eccentric Genius*,” written by Jan Greenberg and Sandra Jordan.

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for the most distinguished book for beginning readers:

Winner:  “The Watermelon Seed*,” written and illustrated by Greg Pizzoli.

Honor Books:

  • “Ball*,” written and illustrated by Mary Sullivan.
  • “A Big Guy Took My Ball!*” written and illustrated by Mo Willems
  • “Penny and Her Marble*,” written and illustrated by Kevin Henkes.

updated 2/27/2014