Co-op deal expands library cardholders’ borrowing opportunities

Petoskey District Library recently announced a new opportunity for its cardholders to borrow materials from select Northland Library Cooperative member libraries, without charge.

Libraries participating in this reciprocal borrowing agreement include Beaver Island District Library, Boyne District Library, Charlevoix Public Library, Interlochen Public Library, Kalkaska County Library, Oscoda County Library, Otsego County Library, Petoskey District Library, Presque Isle District Library, Suttons Bay District Library, Traverse Area District Library and Wolverine Community Library. The only services not available to reciprocal borrowers are the interlibrary loan service, including borrowing through MeLCat, and services that are limited to residents because of licensing restrictions.

Petoskey District Library continues to be part of a local consortium of libraries, all with reciprocal borrowing privileges. The Petoskey facility welcomes members of these libraries to visit and borrow most materials, and reminds its cardholders that they can visit consortium libraries to do the same.

To learn more about the reciprocal borrowing agreement or how to get a library card, click here or call (231) 758.3100.